Life Update: Fall Fun and Hiatus Announcement

Hello my friends,

For those of you who might be new to my blog, I like to pop in and tell you a little about my life about every 6 months.  After an eventful October, I think its time to pop in an say hello.  First and foremost, I want to let you know that I will be taking a brief hiatus.  Starting today, the blog will go dark until the new year. Think of this as a little hibernation.  It is a time of year for rest and celebration with family, and I am taking some time to do just that… as well as some other things I might let you in on in a few months.  Now onto the fun stuff.

Fall has always been my favorite season, so it is no surprise that I have been a bit busy.  Since October is my birthday month, I spent a lot of weekends having fun, and two attractions I did that I want to highlight here are the Red Vein haunt and the Asheville Berry Farm’s Haunted Houses.  If you live in the Richmond area, or happen to be visiting in September or October, these are worth adding to your plan, especially if you like being a little spooked.

First, Red Vein is one of my favorite Halloween attractions I’ve been to in the last few years because their production value is off the characts.  They integrate four different “settings” into one complex storyline, integrating hydraulic decorations, masterfully designed dummies and characters, and other elements like sliding floor panels and a tilting tunnel.  I do not get scarred easily, so I was enthralled by the detail work at this event, and it is so affordable!  I highly recommend, though my one note would be that this event is very popular, if you come early the whole process from line to completion takes about 90 minutes, but if you buy a timed ticket for a time after about 8pm, be prepared to wait, even if you get a VIP ticket.  This is because Red Vein separates parties out into about 5-6 person groups, so that you are not constantly breathing down the back of the person in front of you, and the actors have a chance to reset between groups.  If you want to go just to see their amazing work and not be frightened along the way, they also offer “No-Fright Nights”. 

The Ashland Berry farm is a day or night attraction.  I actually went twice in the month of October, they boast a huge pumpkin patch, a play area for kids, and my personal favorite: homemade doughnuts available still warm with a variety of toppings. Though the rain cut our first visit short, we came back for the Halloween events the next weekend, and naturally had to get more doughnuts.  In regard to their Halloween attractions, I have two notes, first when you go to this farm you will get so very dusty.  Wear clothes that can take it, and note you might have to wash your shoes after.  Second, this farm likes to play with darkness and tunnel height, which means that it is very much a maze where you cannot always find your next turn, and sometimes the ceiling just starts slopping in on you.  If you have any balance, knee, or mobility issues, this may not be an event for you.

And my last unsponsored add is for my only November event.  I had the honor and privilege of going to see the National Tour of Chicago while it is here in Washington D.C.  My High School Band teacher is touring in the band, showcasing her amazing skill, and I was glad to have the chance to grab lunch with her before the show.  If you have a chance to go see this show, absolutely do it.  I may not be doing a review for it, as it is a live show, but it was masterful.  This production is minimalist in its props and sets, but that allows the actors to shine.  With a focus on smart and nuanced choreography, lighting that not only sets the scene but informs the narrative, and a stellar cast, I left this show a little breathless. 

So that gets you up to date on my shenanigans, I am still working hard, still dreaming big, and will be letting you know about some of my recent writing successes when I return from hiatus, but that is all for now folks.  I hope you all have a restful and rejuvenating Holiday season and are able to spend time with the people you love. 

In the meantime, I will be accepting all the good vibes you have and trying to spread some love and light in turn.

Happy Holidays,
Megan

Leave a comment